Media Statements

Minister Des Van Rooyen Presided in the Election and Swearing of the New (Fifth) National House of Traditional Leaders

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs  (CoGTA), Mr Des van Rooyen as delegated by President Jacob Zuma in terms of the National House of Traditional Leaders Act, 2009 (Act No 22 of 2009), presided over the reconstitution, swearing in and election of the chair and deputy chair of the National House of Traditional Leaders. The reconstitution of the House was conducted in terms of Sections 8 and 9 of the Act, read with Paragraph 10 of the Rules and Orders of the House.

This reconstitution of the fifth National House of Traditional Leaders on 09 November 2017 follows the reconstitution of all Provincial Houses of Traditional Leaders and it is an important milestone in the journey of our democracy. The 23 members of the newly reconstituted House were sworn in by a Deputy Judge President of the North Gauteng High Court. Following the swearing of all the members, the new chairperson and Deputy Chairperson were nominated and then endorsed officially as the new leadership of the National House

  • Chairperson – Ikosi Sipho Mahlangu
  • Deputy Chairperson – Nkosikazi Nomandla Mhlauli

On 09 November 2017, the reconstitution of the house came an opportune time just after Parliament of the Republic of South Africa approved Traditional Khoisan Leaders Bill (TKLB) on Tuesday, 07 November 2017 and forwarded it to the National Council of Provinces for concurrence. This bill would have a number of benefits, including ensuring an integrated approach in dealing with all matters relating to traditional affairs. It would enhance the uniform manner in which matters relating to traditional affairs are dealt with across the country and also address legal uncertainties and gaps that have been identified in the two pieces of legislation. This important bill was part of the of the many activities and programmes that the fourth house was seized with.

After the swearing in of the leadership of the house, the Chairperson thanked the outgoing members of the fourth term for having laid an important foundation upon which the fifth house will continue to build. The new chair accepted the mandate given to the new house and committed that all members will be working together much harder and smarter strengthen this important institution and continue to push the transformation agenda within this sector.

Of importance is that in the new house, Mme (female) has been endorsed as its deputy chair out of nine members who are female. This is the highest number of BoMme (females) being part of the National House. In both the Northern Cape and the Free State Provinces, BoMme (females) are leading the provincial houses and then in KwaZulu-Natal, the deputy chair is also a female. This is an important development and speaks to the transformation of this important sector.

Minister recalled the hard work, dedication and diligence with which the fourth house conducted it’s business. The Minister thanked the outgoing chair, Kgosi Maubane for his contribution in making the previous NHTL the capable House it was. “He served the institution of traditional leadership with passion, commitment and dedication”, said Minister.

The Minister expressed appreciation in the way the term of office of the Fourth National House of Traditional Leaders was marked with stability, co-operation and togetherness, as the leaders have finished their terms without any disruptions, unlike the Houses before it, whose terms were marked with conflict, the vote of no confidence being the most notorious of the unwanted practices.

“I am looking forward to seeing the current leadership of this House finish its term uninterrupted”, said Minister.


Legadima Leso

CoGTA Head of Communications

083 378 9495