Media Statements

Minister Des van Rooyen Satisfied with By-Elections Process in Metsimaholo


The chairperson of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Local Elections, Minister Des van Rooyen, continued his engagements in Metsimaholo from 28 – 29 November 2017. Following the special voting that took place on 28 November 2017, which saw about 6000 voters making their mark, the main election day on 29 November 2017 proceeded as expected. All the 15 political parties contesting elections in Metsimaholo and part of the 82 000 registered voters were ready to cast their ballots.

Before the voting commenced, Minister van Rooyen had visited the IEC command centre to ensure that voting across the municipality began on time and voting stations opened as planned. As expected, the Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) has once again delivered a successful municipal by-election.

Minister was appraised with the plans to ensure that elections are safe and he welcomed the hard work put in place by the security structures. The voting districts in 21 wards we operating as expected with no disruptions. To this effect, Minister expressed appreciation to communities in the way they conducted themselves.

“We thank all the role players, especially the voters who braved the heat to make their mark of history and we are truly encouraged by their resolve and determination to strengthen our democracy by building a sustainable Municipality”, said Minister.

Speaking during a visit to the polling stations, Minister van Rooyen reiterated his call for calm and tolerance. “It is only when we are tolerant of each other that we can truly contribute to building South Africa we all aspire to see”, he said. The Minister expressed disappointed that even after he called for calm and peace in Metsimaholo in his capacity as the chair of the IMC on elections, individuals that were dressed in their party regalia wanted to distract other stakeholders and role-players from performing their lawful duties. “Such actions fly in the face of our hard won democracy and I urge all South Africans to be tolerant of each other if we want to continue building our democracy”, added Minister.

The Independent Electoral Commission is working towards releasing the results of this important elections. As government, we wish that citizens of Metsimaholo can have a municipality that takes care of their needs and requirements. Once more, Minister van Rooyen thanked all voters who were able to cast their ballot and other stakeholders.


Media Enquiries:

Legadima Leso

CoGTA Head of Communications

Cell: 083 378 9495