Featured News

Minister Mkhize Invites Suitable Candidates to Serve as Commissioners of the CRL Rights Commission

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA), Dr Zweli Mkhize, invites nominations from organisations and individuals within the cultural, religious and linguistic sectors of South Africa for appointment as candidates to serve as Commissioners of the Commission on the Promotion of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities (CRL Rights Commission).

The term of the current commissioners will come to an end on 28 February 2019. As such, in line with Section 10 of the Commission on the Promotion of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities (CRL Rights Commission) Act 19 of 2002, the Department of Traditional Affairs has commenced the process of appointing new Commissioners. Once the nominations have been received, they will be assessed by a panel and recommendations will be made to the President of the Republic on who should be appointed as Commissioners.

Once the suitably qualified and experienced persons are appointed as Commissioners of the CRL Rights Commission, they will serve for a period of five years, beginning from 01 March 2019 until end of February 2024.

Nominations must meet the requirements of section 9 of the Act to ensure that the Commission is composed in such a way that it:-
Is at least broadly representative of the main cultural, religious and linguistic communities in South Africa
Broadly reflects the gender composition of South Africa

All nominations must be supported by:

  • The personal details of the nominee;
  • Particulars of the nominee’s involvement in cultural, religious and linguistic affairs, including a list of the cultural, religious and linguistic organisations of which the nominee is a member, an office-bearer or in which that nominee an active participant;

Particulars of the nominee’s knowledge and experience concerning issues relevant to:

  •  The promotion and protection of the rights of cultural, religious and linguistic communities;
  • Nation-building; and
  • Any other relevant information.

Nominations must be submitted by no later than 30 September 2018 to the following address:

Attention: Ms L Motlhala
Nominations: Commission (Act No.19 of 2002)
Department of Traditional Affairs
Private Bag x 22

Important documents:

Media Enquiries:
Legadima Leso
Cell: 066 479 9904