Media Statements

Proclamation of Election Date

In terms of section 24(2) of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998), Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Mr Des van Rooyen called an election of all municipal councils and set 3 August 2016 as the date of the local government election. The Minister announced this proclamation of the coming local government election date today, 23 May 2016. In effect this means that the Voters’ Roll closed at 17h00 today, 23 May 2016.


We are encouraged that the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) holds an untarnished reputation having hosted a number of successful national, provincial and local government elections, since 1994. “I am therefore delighted to hand over the baton to the IEC as it prepares to deliver yet another successful election”, said Minister van Rooyen.


Minister van Rooyen thanked all voters who registered, verified their details and provided addresses or sufficient particularities to ensure that they are eligible to vote on 03 August 2016.


“I encourage all eligible voters to help strengthen our democracy by voting in the coming local government election scheduled for 03 August 2016”, said Minister van Rooyen.




Head of Communication (COGTA)

Mr Legadima Leso – 082 378 9495