About Us

The Department of Cooperative Government's (DCoG) mandate is derived from Chapters 3 and 7 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996).

As a national department, its function is to develop national policies and legislation with regard to provinces and local government, and to monitor the implementation of the following:

DCoG’s other function is to support Provinces and Local Government in fulfilling their constitutional and legal obligations.


An integrated, responsive and highly effective governance system, including communities, to achieve sustainable development and improved service delivery.


Our mission is to facilitate cooperative governance and support all spheres of government, promote traditional affairs and support associated institutions through:

1.     Developing appropriate policies and legislation to promote integration in government’s development programmes and service delivery;

2.     Providing strategic interventions, support and partnerships to facilitate policy implementation in the Provinces and Local Government; and

3.     Creating enabling mechanisms for communities to participate in governance.


Our values are informed by the Batho Pele (People First) principles of the South African Public Service and the specific CoGTA focus on the following:

·         Professionalism; 

·         Activist approach;

·         Partnership and collectivism

·         Service excellence 

Primary Strategic Stakeholders

Our primary strategic stakeholders are:

·         The Presidency

·         National Planning Commission

·         Monitoring & Evaluation

·         National Treasury

·         Department of Public Service and Administration

·         Institution of Traditional Leadership

·         Provincial sphere of Government

·         Local sphere of Government (Municipalities)

·         Municipal Demarcation Board

·         Commission for the promotion and protection of the cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities

·         South African Local government Association

·         National House of Traditional Leaders

·         Commission on Traditional Leadership and Claims

·         South African Cities Network


·         National Sector Departments

·         Professional bodies

·         Provincial Academies

·         Development Bank of South Africa

·         Public Service Commission

·         Public Administration Leadership and Management Academy

·         Sector Education and Authorities

·         Public

·         Communities