Media Statements

Minister Dlamini Zuma to Sign MoU with Lesotho on Decentralisation and Local Government

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma will, on behalf of the South African Government, sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Kingdom of Lesotho on cooperation in the field of decentralisation and local government.

The MoU is to be signed by Minister Dlamini Zuma and the Minister for Local Government in the Kingdom of Lesotho, Hon. Moshe Leoma. It will deepen cooperation in the areas of:

  1. Fiscal decentralisation
  2. Integrated development planning
  3. Development of local government and governance institutions and structures
  4. Human resource development and exchange programmes by councils/municipalities

The two Ministers will also oversee the signing of the technical MoU on disaster management that sets out a framework for a collaborative arrangement, which includes joint actions toward preventing and mitigating risks related to disasters. The MoU will be signed by the Acting Head of the National Disaster Management Centre in South Africa and the Head of the Disaster Management Authority of Lesotho.

Members of the media are invited to attend the signing ceremony scheduled to take place as follows:

Date: 24 August 2022
Time: 11h00
Venue: The Maslow Time Square, Pretoria

Media Enquiries:
Lungi Mtshali
Cell: 082 088 5060‬