Invitation For Appointment To The Municipal Demarcation Board

  1. Section 155(3)(b) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 provides for the establishment of an independent authority for the determination of municipal boundaries. The Local Government: Municipal Demarcation Act, 1998 Act No. 27 of 1998 establishes criteria and procedures for the determination of municipal boundaries by the independent Municipal Demarcation Board (MDB), and for matters connected therewith.

  2. Ms. Thembi Nkadimeng, MP, Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (hereinafter referred to as “the Minister”), hereby invites applications from suitably qualified and experienced persons for appointment as members of the MDB.

  3. Members of the Board are appointed by the President, and the Board must consist of no fewer than 7 and no more than 10 members. The Board must be broadly representative of South African society; reflect regional diversity; and collectively represent a pool of knowledge concerning issues relevant to municipal demarcation in each of the provinces.

  4. Members of the Board must be South African citizens and have a qualification or experience in or knowledge appropriate to: (a) local government generally; or (b) any of the following: (¡) development economics; (il) integrated development planning; (i) community development; (iv) traditional leadership and traditional communities; (v) local government and municipal administration; (vi) municipal finance; (vi) municipal services; (vi) social or economic geography; (ix) town and regional planning; (x) legal and constitutional matters affecting local government; (xi) land survey, cartography and geographic information systems; (xi) public health care; or (xii) transport planning

  5. Conditions of appointment of members will be determined by the Minister with the concurrence of the Minister of Finance, taking into account, amongst other factors, the conditions of appointment of members of other institutions referred to in section 219/5) of the Constitution.

  6. The Board is appointed on a 5-year term and the tenure of the current Board comes to an end during February 2024, whereafter the new members of the Board must be appointed.

  7. The offices of the MDB are located in Centurion, City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality,

  8. Written applications accompanied by a comprehensive curriculum vitae and copies of certificates must be submitted by e-mail to: by no later than 13 November 2023.

Enquiries: Mr. Wayne McComans: 012 395 4616