About Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional affairs

About us

Our mandate is derived from the Constitution and relevant legislation. As such the Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs is designated to administer various acts in CoGTA such as:

  • Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act No 57 of 2002.
  • Local Government: Municipal Systems Act, 2000 (Act No. 32 of 2000).
  • Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998).
  • The Intergovernmental Relations Framework Act (Act No. 13, of 2005).
  • Fire Brigade Services Act, (Act No. 99 of 1987)


Efficient and effective cooperative governance system that enables resilient, safe, sustainable, prosperous, cohesive, connected and climate-smart communities.


To lead the Cooperative Governance system in support of intergrated planning and implementation across all spheres of government.

Guided by the spirit of Batho Pele, our values are:

  • Commitment to public service.
  • Integrity and dedication to fighting corruption.
  • A hands-on approach to dealing with local challenges.
  • Public participation and people centered approach.
  • Professionalism and goal orientation.
  • Passion to serve.
  • Excellence and accountability.
Adherence to these values will contribute towards the required state of Local Government.

Contact information
Tel: +27 12 334-0831 / 0641