Composition of the National House of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders

The Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders Act, 2019 (Act No 3 of 2019) (TKLA) provides that membership of the NHTKL is composed of 23 delegates elected by Provincial Houses of Eastern Cape, Free State, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North West and Kwa-Zulu Natal.  Two members of the House are from the two traditional councils in Gauteng since the province does not have a Provincial House.  The membership will increase as and when Khoi-San leadership is recognised.  The Leadership of the NHTKL comprises the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, both of whom are elected by voting by other members. Both the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson serve on a full-time basis and serve in the Executive Committee of the House.  The other five members who serve in the Executive Committee are the leaders of their respective provincial delegations.