Deputy Minister Obed Bapela


  • Deputy Minister in the Presidency for Performance Monitoring and Evaluation of the Republic of South Africa, from 24 October 2011 to 23 May 2014.
  • Member of Parliament since 2002

Academic Qualifications

  • Diploma in Journalism
  • Certificate in Community and Organisational Development
  • Certificate in Safety and Security
  • Certificate in Policy Development with specialisation in International Relations
  • Currently studying towards Advanced Diploma in Development Economics at the University of South Africa

Career/Memberships/Positions/Other Activities

  • Part of the 1976 uprising student activists
  • Member of the African National Congress (ANC) underground structures since 1979
  • Member of the Congress of South African Students (COSAS) in the early 1980s
  • Founding member of Alexandra Youth Congress in 1983 and later became its Deputy President
  • Founding member of the United Democratic Front (UDF) in 1983
  • Member of the Civic movement later known as South African National Civic Organisation – SANCO (1985 – 1986)
  • Deputy Secretary of ANC Johannesburg branch
  • Regional Secretary of the ANC PWV (1991 – 1994)
  • Deputy Secretary of ANC Gauteng province (1994 – 2000)
  • Served as Ex-Official in the National Executive Committee of the ANC
  • Detained several times and appeared in two political trials in Port Elizabeth and Alexandra (1986, and 1987 -1990)
  • Member of Joint Rules Committee
  • Member of National Assembly Committee
  • Member of Joint Programming Committee
  • Member of National Assembly Programming Committee
  • Chairperson of the Inter-Parliamentary Group on International Relations
  • Member of Portfolio Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade and Industry
  • Facilitator/Chairperson of South Africa- European Union Inter-Parliamentary Meetings
  • Member of Gauteng Provincial Legislature (1994 – 1999)
  • Served on Gauteng Portfolio Committee on Safety and Security
  • Former House Chairperson of National Assembly
  • Deputy Minister of Communications of the Republic of South Africa, (1 November 2010 – 24 October 2011)