Constitutional mandate 

The mandate of the Department of Cooperative Governance (DCoG) mandate is primarily derived from Chapters 3, 5, 6, 7 and 9 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, hereafter referred to as the Constitution. 

Chapter 3 – This chapter deals with cooperative government and intergovernmental relations. The department will need to ensure that we observe and adhere to the principles in this chapter and that we conduct our activities within the parameters of this chapter. 

Chapter 5 – This chapter deals with national intervention in provincial administration when a province cannot or does not fulfil an executive obligation in terms of the Constitution or legislation. Chapter 6 – This chapter deals with provincial intervention in local government, when municipalities are unable to fulfil their executive obligations. 

Chapter 6 is also relevant when a municipality, as a result of the financial crisis, breaches its obligations to provide basic services to meet its financial requirements. 

Chapter 7 – This chapter deals with, among other things, municipalities in cooperative governance. The department, by legislation, must support and strengthen the capacity of municipalities to manage their own affairs, exercise their powers and perform their functions. 

Chapter 9 – This chapter deals with those institutions whose role involves strengthening the constitutional democracy of the country. The department must comply with all legislative frameworks in this chapter in order to conform to rules made under the auspices of institutions such as the Auditor-General and the Public Protector. 

Our primary mandate is to: 

Develop and monitor the implementation of the national policy and legislation, seeking to transform and strengthen key institutions and mechanisms of governance to fulfil their developmental role

Develop, promote and monitor mechanisms, systems and structures to enable integrated service delivery and implementation within government

Promote sustainable development by providing support to and exercising oversight over provincial and local government

Legislative Mandate 

As a national department, our function is to develop national policies and legislation regarding local government and to monitor, among other things, the implementation of the following: